What are key stages?

In English And Welsh Schools the National Curriculum is divided into Key Stages

The Key Stages of the National Curriculum are:

What Subjects are covered in the key stages?


There are no compulsory subjects in the foundation years

In Key Stages 1-3 all pupils must learn:

In Key Stage 3 all pupils must additionally learn Citizenship and at least one Modern Foreign Language.

Key Stage three is usually when children are first introduced to the 'greats' of literature, including inevitably, some of the works of William Shakespeare.

Athe the end of year 9 (age 13-14) pupils drop some subjets and take up some new topics. However all pupils must continue studying at least one of the core topics of:

Looking for school exam tips for children?